Avendoo® online documentation

Category tree

The category tree is a tool for navigating in the single categories. The category tree shows the filing systems of the learning content in Avendoo®. The client name represents simultaneously the name of the highest category. You can create any sub categories in the client. Thus the learning content is better structured and sorted. To do some actions right-click on the category:

  • Create new category: Create new category and entitle it.
  • Edit: Edit the names of the category.
  • Move: Choose new main category and thus move category.
  • Delete: Delete the category. Note: You can only delete, if there is no content in this category.
    Notes

    – If the author has deleted an overdue category, the info text “Category successfully deleted” is shown as long the first user needs time to read this info text.
    – If there are task templates, which are marked as deleted in the category which should be deleted,  the category will be deleted and the task templates are moved to the highest category. 

  • Show, create and edit keywords (only for highest category): Add, edit or delete keywords
  • Access rights: Define access rights for authors of a client or of a category. Access rights are always inherited to the existing sub categories.
  • Note

    Note that you do not give a wide-ranged permission on the highest level. You should restricht the permission as much as you can and give the permissions only to the necessary categories.


    An example about the access rights you find here.
  • Information: General and Security
    On the tab General you find the following information:

    • Owner,
    • Creation date,
    • Path (Category),
    • ID (Category),
    • Deeplink (Category),
    • Translator and
    • Used media
  • On the tab Security you can define object permission for a user or a permission group. Therefore click on the button User management to select a single user (author, user or team leader) and assign them object permissions, or you click on the button Permission group to select a permission group and assign object permissions to it. You can grant the following object permissions:
    • Create learning object,
    • Read learning object,
    • Edit learning object,
    • Create course activation,
    • Read course activation,
    • Edit course activation,
    • Manage participants or/and
    • Grant permissions.

    Finally you click always on the button Save.

    After that you can edit object permissions by clicking on the Pencil, set or deactivate the appropriate check marks and click on the button Save. If you click on the Pencil, you also see the inherited object permissions.

    Notes

    Note that

    – a user for user content (My content on the Learning place) gets on his/her category automatically all object permissions and

    – object permissions on one category are inherited to the sub categories and to the objects of the category and their sub categories.

Access rights for categories

You can assign for each category the following rights to the single authors.

Important note: Note that the given rights are inherited to all sub categories.

Restrict access rights for certain categories

If you want to give authors only access to certain categories, do the following steps:

Restrict first the rights in the user data, this means deprive the rights, which you only want to release in the category.

Note: It have to be the right “Read” at least in the user data.